HOWTO: Canon PIXMA IP1500

I have a Canon PIXMA ip1500 printer which I usually print in the Windows environment. I came across a software called Turboprint one day. My printer model is supported. I downloaded it and installed. Everything seemed perfect (except the GTK1 interface). But it turned out that every paper I print has its logo on, even I try the lowest resolution. And I have to pay $34 to register to use it with full function. It seems ridiculous that I have to pay almost equvalent money as my printer to drive it in my Linux! Uninstall it immediately…

I searched Ubuntu Forum with “ip1500” , there are lots of posts. I read some of them, looked quite complex… so I didn’t try then. But today I am quite free so I decided to drive my ip1500 in my Ubuntu. Fortunately, the first post I read from my search result is a perfect one. Here it is. I’ll just add a link where the official driver for Linux can be downloaded.

As the post said, despite the official site said the OS is SUSE, it works perfect on my Ubuntu Edgy with KDE. Just install the printer from KDE control center instead of “gnome-cups-manager”.

One Response to HOWTO: Canon PIXMA IP1500

  1. game slot tanpa deposit dapat uang asli

    HOWTO: Canon PIXMA IP1500 | Wei’s world of Linux/Ubuntu+KDE

Leave a comment