Upgrade to Ubuntu Feisty, solve no sound problem

Superb supried after upgrade to Ubuntu Feisty (7.04). The first edition of Ubuntu I installed is 6.04, and the upgrade to 6.10 is just so so, I didn’t feel any big change, to be honest. But, this time, I feel my Ubuntu+KDE is faster 5 times!!

Honestly, I do not know what’s essential new stuff in this Feisty edition, the next version is coming up October anyway… I just want to be updated… The result is surprisingly good. For the first time, I feel my Ubuntu is actually faster than Windows, yes!

Here is some problems after the upgrade, though: 1. fcitx, a Chinese input software crashes everytime; 2. My Chinese fonts become mess; 3. no sound at all!

Fortunately, all these three problems are solved right now. I’ll just list my solution to the third problem here, as I think most of the viewers are not Chinese :)

The no sound problem is quite annoying. My problem is no sound at all! I found a nice HOWTO article in the Ubuntu forum here. It’s a Comprehensive Sound Problem Solutions Guide. But I can find my sound card by the command “aplay -l” and the rest of the article cannot help me out.

Then I came across a Chinese article that just solve my problem, and it’s quite simple! I consider this as a Ubuntu/Linux upgrade bug! Here is the solution:

Type “gnome-volume-control” in the terminal. As I am using KDE, there is no icon in my system tray. I need to type the command.

“Edit” -> “Preference”, check “Headphone Jack Sense” and “Line Jack Sense”.

Goto “Switch” tab, Uncheck both of them. Then you will hear a “dong” sound, and the sound is back!

You might also want to turn off the Microphone (make it mute), as I find my Thinkpad has lousy noises when the volume is up. This is due to the internal microphone in my laptop. Turning it off will solve this.

I do not come across any new software of the Feisty version yet, but the speed of the system is very good. I feel very satisfied.

24 Responses to Upgrade to Ubuntu Feisty, solve no sound problem

  1. Ed says:

    Thanks a lot, I couldn’t figure this snafu out.

  2. ubuntutribe says:

    Hello:
    You are invited to watch the Ubuntu Tribe movie trailer.
    Thank you and nice to meet you!
    htp://www.ubuntutribe.com

  3. Bernardo says:

    Thanks bro. I had the same problem, but in my case I have to reboot after checking “Headphone Jack Sense” and “Line Jack Sense”. Damn bug! So annoying, I have to edit the “preferences” every time I restart the pc.

  4. Cyril says:

    Thanks Thanks Thanks !!!

    I had the same problem (kubuntu 7.04), solved.

    Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC’97 Audio Controller (rev 03)

    For Bernado :
    may be “sudo alsactl store”

  5. Wei says:

    Bernardo: I have to reset the Jack stuff after reboot as well before. But I found that I can also use Kmix to change the Jack stuff. And after I set everything in Kmix, I don’t need to reset after reboot anymore. I think this is working because I am using KDE. Hope this can help you.

    Cyril: Cheers! Glad you got the sound back:)

  6. Bernardo says:

    Thanks Wei and Cyril.

  7. bambit says:

    “Edit” -> “Preference”, check “Headphone Jack Sense” and “Line Jack Sense”.

    Goto “Switch” tab, Uncheck both of them. Then you will hear a “dong” sound, and the sound is back!

    I had just upgraded from Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04 to Ubuntustudio and was tinkering with a handful of video editing software before I realized I had lost my sound (no more login/logout sounds).

    This fixed things for me in a snap. Thanks!

  8. Free Penguin says:

    Hello,
    I’m the web-master of Free Penguin,
    I’ve seen your space and I like it, congratulations!
    If you want we could link each other with a banner o with a simple link.

    My web-site is http://www.freepenguin.it

    I’m waiting for your reply!

    Free Penguin – Free as in Freedom

    andrea@freepenguin.it

  9. Apoorv says:

    I dnt see any “Headphone Jack Sense” or “Line Jack Sense” in volume control.. is it just because i’m using an old PC..??

  10. PJ says:

    Thanks for the advice…it worked perfectly!

  11. uncellKal says:

    Two new studies show why some people are more attractive for members of the opposite sex than others.

    The University of Florida, Florida State University found that physically attractive people almost instantly attract the attention of the interlocutor, sobesednitsy with them, literally, it is difficult to make eye. This conclusion was reached by a series of psychological experiments, which were determined by the people who believe in sending the first seconds after the acquaintance. Here, a curious feature: single, unmarried experimental preferred to look at the guys, beauty opposite sex, and family, people most often by representatives of their sex.

    The authors believe that this feature developed a behavior as a result of the evolution: a man trying to find a decent pair to acquire offspring. If this is resolved, he wondered potential rivals. Detailed information about this magazine will be published Journal of Personality and Social Psychology.

    In turn, a joint study of the Rockefeller University, Rockefeller University and Duke University, Duke University in North Carolina revealed that women are perceived differently by men smell. During experiments studied the perception of women one of the ingredients of male pheromone-androstenona smell, which is contained in urine or sweat.

    The results were startling: women are part of this repugnant odor, and the other part is very attractive, resembling the smell of vanilla, and the third group have not felt any smell. The authors argue that the reason is that the differences in the receptor responsible for the olfactory system, from different people are different.

    It has long been proven that mammals (including human) odor is one way of attracting the attention of representatives of the opposite sex. A detailed article about the journal Nature will publish.

  12. George says:

    this sounds like a good answer to the problem. But I’m using Geubuntu and I have no sound. When I check the sound set up it tells me that my video card is the primary sound source. How do you fix that?

  13. delay says:

    delay says : I absolutely agree with this !

  14. rad says:

    Why dont you try Ubuntu 8.04 ? 7.04 is obsolete.
    And did you try to compile latest kernel ?

  15. Toiletries says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Toiletries
    .

  16. Frustrated Geek says:

    Thanks for the help. I tried everything I could find online and still no sound. I did not have any headphone or line jack sense but I checked and then unchecked everything that was available and after 2 weeks of frustration I finally have sound again. It worked before in Gutsy and not I can finally finish up setting up Hardy. Thank you.

  17. Moses says:

    Hi,

    Nice post, I used this solution to fix my Ubuntu sound problem

    http://www.fixya.com/support/t850063-ubuntu_sound_problem

    Keep up the good work,
    Moses.

  18. j4 says:

    i install vlc and miro… but i heard no sound while i c it plays, what am i going to do?

  19. lw says:

    ty, worked like a charm on Karmic Koala

  20. When one views the issue at hand, i have to agree with your endings. You intelligibly show cognition about this matter and i have much to discover after reading your post.Lot’s of salutations and i will come back for any further updates.

  21. […] via Upgrade to Ubuntu Feisty, solve no sound problem « Wei’s world of Linux/Ubuntu+KDE. […]

  22. pc says:

    pc…

    […]Upgrade to Ubuntu Feisty, solve no sound problem « Wei’s world of Linux/Ubuntu+KDE[…]…

  23. source says:

    When I start your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of nonsense, is the issue on my side?

  24. website says:

    It looks to me that this website doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the exact same problem? I like this web site and dont want to have to skip it when Im gone from my computer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

