Recommend: Yakuake, a cool terminal Emulator for KDE

In KDE, I use Konsole all the time, until I met Yakuake. I add this small tool to my long-term using applications immediately. The reason is simple. It’s pretty convenient, fast, and cool.

KDE lets me define a shortcut (I set it to Win+Ctrl+T, whilst Win+T to start it) to activate my Konsole no matter what desktop it is, or it is minimised or not. This is quite handy as whenever I want to switch to an opened Konsole instead of opening a new one, I just press the hotkey. However, it is annoy that after this I have to minimise it manually, otherwise it will be the current active window in my every 9 desktop!!

By using Yakuake, this wouldn’t be an issue anymore. I add it to my autostart applications. So instead of start a terminal and switch it every time and minimise after using it, I just press a hotkey (I set it to Alt+X as it is very handy for my left hand), a console will slide from my top screen edge, then I can type and command I want, or add more tabs. To inactivate it, just click outside this console it will slide back as nothing happens, or press the hotkey again. This applies to all my desktops. Besides, the interface is really cool, I set it to use Konsole’s settings, others default. Here is a screenshot:

Yakuake

To install is quite simple: in terminal “sudo apt-get install yakuake” , then say goodbye to your old terminal emulators.

2 Responses to Recommend: Yakuake, a cool terminal Emulator for KDE

  1. K.Mandla says:

    Wei … what are you doing with an xvid rip of The DaVinci Code … ? ;)

  2. Wei says:

    I know I shouln’t give my list of my home folder :P. That’s just a srt subtitle file. I just found this Lemonrip applicatrion that can rip my DVD disk into xvid, avi with subtitles.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

